May… Already Over?

Wow, I can not believe how fast time flies!

I have been on my summer break for a couple of weeks now and let’s just say I’ve been relishing it. πŸ™‚

Don’t worry though, I have been able to snap some pics of blog worthy food, so let’s go on to some eats!

It’s summer time (well, not technically, but whatev) and we all know what that means.. ice cream! And there’s no other better way than to enjoy this treat than…

DSCN5573
Totally Vegan, Totally Rad Banana Split topped w/ crushed PB Puffins

Um, yea, it was as GREAT as it looks! MMM!!

I have also been enjoying lots of pizza lately. There’s nothing more satisfying than a cheesy piece of pizza. I get my vegan fix at Pizza Fusion, where they have an awesome “Very Vegan Pizza” on their menu.

Crimini mushrooms, roasted garlic, tomato sauce and soy cheese
Crimini mushrooms, roasted garlic, tomato sauce and soy cheese

Their vegan soy cheese is like none other! The crust was thin and slightly burnt, JUST the way I like it. Defintely good eats.

A brand new HUGE Whole Foods opened here in Chicago and of course I had to go check it out. The store was so overwhelming, I didn’t know where to start, yet luckily I quickly found the many vegan items they had there. I had so much difficulty deciding what I wanted to buy there, so I decided to purchase things I know I couldn’t get at my regular Whole Foods.

One such item was a ready to go vegan meal.

Yummy Vegan Taco Salad
Yummy Vegan Taco Salad

WOW! Dare I say, best taco salad I’ve had so far? The queso sauce was out of this world, it made the whole dish!

I also picked up two things to satisy my ever-present sweet tooth.

Vegan and Gluten Free Cupcake from Swirlz
Vegan and Gluten Free Cupcake from Swirlz

Swirlz is a local bakery that specializes in cupcakes. Their cuppies are decorated so cute! Just look at it..

Aww.. cute enough to eat!
Aww.. cute enough to eat!

But was it tasty? You be the judge of that…

My sister enjoying her cuppie
My sister enjoying her cuppie

And I also found a new type of cookie I haven’t had in ages – the classic sugar cookie!

nom, nom!
nom, nom!

You didn’t think I would end a post without the obligatory cookie, did you? πŸ˜‰ It’s like you don’t even know me…

Be back soon!

11 thoughts on “May… Already Over?

  1. I can’t believe it’s June either!!! Crazy.

    Whoa, that banana split is too phenomenal for words! PB Puffins?! Yes, please!

    That is awesome about the new WF. I’ll have to check it out when I (hopefully) go to Chicago this summer. I love the taco salad…ooo and the cupcake sounds amazing!

    I actually saw the cupcake and was like “what!? that’s not her usual dessert!” haha

  2. JB says:

    the banana split and the pizza both look AMAZING. there are tons of vegan restaurants here in L.A. but i’ve yet to discover a pizza place with a vegan option! i’m jealous!

    and i can’t believe it’s already june either. time definitely seems to go by too quickly whenever you don’t want it to. have a good day, evey!

    -JB
    http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com/

  3. I didn’t know that there was a bakery in Chicago that offers vegan AND gluten-free cupcakes! I’ve gotta make it there sometime (or @ least to the new whole foods, whichever is closer)!

    That banana split looks great- it’s been way too long since I’ve had one.

  4. banana split! oh yes! i want one now too…thanks a lot. πŸ™‚

    okay, if we ever do meet up chicago, we might have to hit up that new whole foods as well. it sounds awwwwesome.

    okay, so i think that pizza fusion place might be a chain…b/c we have one here in downtown atlanta too, and i’ve heard it is very vegan friendly. i should probably go before the summer’s up if they have soy cheese! so fun!
    glad to hear that you’re alive and feeding yourself well, missy. πŸ™‚ have a wondrous day!

  5. Congratulations on summer vacation!! Mmmm, looks like you’re having a well-deserved delicious summer vacation already… πŸ™‚ Such a great idea, putting PB puffins on a banana split! YUM!

Leave a Reply

