Glorious Finals

Hi everyone! Long time no see, huh? Please excuse my absence, but you all know how school and life can be.

Right now I am in the midst of glorious finals week and I only have one more to go and then it’s FREEDOM! I can’t wait, but before I get back to studying my butt off I wanted to update my blog with tons of food pics that have been piling up in my camera’s memory.

In April, this blog turned one year old! YAY! I have had loads of fun becoming a part of this wonderful blogosphere and I can’t believe it’s been a year since I first started Vegan Nurse. I can’t wait to see what this next year holds in store.

On to the food!

DSCN5245

First off, I tried a new Larabar flavor – Lemon Bar. Now usually I am not a huge fan of citrus flavors, but this one was really good. The Lemon flavor was spot on and it wasn’t too overpowering like I thought it would be.

VeggieGirl's Infamous Blondies
VeggieGirl’s Infamous Blondies

OMG, believe the hype people! VeggieGirl’s blondies are the shiznit! What are you waiting for? Go bake some right now!

Inside Look @ Blondies... YUM!
Inside Look @ Blondies… YUM!

I also was able to try some of the BEST COOKIES EVER

Hilary's Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Hilary’s Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

You guys know me and my cookies… but man, oh man, was this the best cookie I’ve ever had (and I’ve had my fair share of them, trust me!). If you are able to find these cookies, I highly recommend Hilary’s – she knows what she’s doin’.

The Best Burger Eva
The Best Burger Eva

My mom has been really awesome lately as she’s been cooking up vegan meals like none other. One day she decided to make the fam Grilled Veggie Pesto Burgers! Oh yes, it is as amazing as it sounds, friends. My mom would grill up portabella mushrooms, eggplants, zucchini, red/green peppers, and the marinate them in a delicous (vegan!) pesto sauce. HOLY YUM.. best burger of my life. Period.

What's a burger without some onion rings?
What’s a burger without some onion rings?

The onion rings were the bomb, guys! They are vegan amd gluten free and so darn tasty. The brand we got we found at Whole Foods and it was Ian’s. Definitely recommended.

New obsession alert!

Wait, these aren't cookies...
Wait, these aren’t cookies…

Nope, but they sure are addicting little fellas! These little cafe twist are really good and it’s amazing that they’re only 30 kcals per twist! Trader Joe’s has managed to create a vegan delicacy with these little cinnamon sugar sticks. The perfect sensible dessert.. or you could eat a ton of ’em and not feel too guilty, haha.

Mystic Mango Kombucha
Mystic Mango Kombucha

This is hands down my favorite Kombucha flavor. Love how it makes my tummy feel.

Another VG Blondie Batch!
Another VG Blondie Batch!

What – you STILL haven’t baked a batch? What are you waiting for?

Chicago Diner Strawberry Vegan Shake
Chicago Diner Strawberry Vegan Shake

My lil sister fell in love with Chicago Diner shakes after she ordered this baby. “This is, like, the BEST THING EVER” she exclaimed as she downed her beverage in two seconds flat. I still haven’t tried the famour PB Cookie Dough Milkshake, but don’t worry it’s definitely on my to-do list, Ruby Red! πŸ˜‰

I ordered a bit more sensible and healthy drink for my meal –

Fresh Carrot Juice
Fresh Carrot Juice

Ah, nothing beats freshly made carrot juice. So delicious and so invigorating! What did I order for my meal…

Raw B.L.Tease Sandwich
Raw B.L.Tease Sandwich

I ordered the raw special of the day – the BLTease Sandwich. Described on the menu as “eggplant ‘bacon’, avocado, tomato slices, sprouts, cashew-date mustard sauce on kamut-walnut-flax bread. With almond-cashew “mayo” coleslaw & parsnip-sweet potato chips.” Umm, yea, how heavenly does that sound? It was a pretty radical sammy, guys. The flavors were outstanding and everything was just so delish! I was completely satisfied with my meal, but of course you know me – I can’t say no to dessert! My mom and I decided to order…

Raw Pineapple Cheezecake
Raw Pineapple Cheezecake

OMG, was this AMAZING! My mom and I were in heaven with each and every bite. And the awesome thing about raw desserts – they actually fill you up! Of course this put me over the top, but it was so worth it. Nom, nom. πŸ˜€

On a routine trip to Trader Joe’s I found something I wanted to give a try.

Chicken-less Pulled Chicken in BBQ Sauce
Chicken-less Pulled Chicken in BBQ Sauce

It sounded amazing, but it was just ok. I wish the BBQ sauce had a more dominant flavor.

Recently, I’ve been obsessed with raw desserts and I had to jump on the blog bandwagon when I saw these little guys popping up…

Ani Phyo's Amazing Raw Donut holes
Ani Phyo’s Amazing Raw Donut holes

I have Ani Phyo’s “cookbook” so as soon as I saw these babies on everyone’s blogs, I decided to whip out Phyo and make these babies. Oh, yes, it is true guys.. they are as amazing everyone said they are. MMM! But don’t despair if you don’t have Miss Phyo’s book (although it is highly recommended)! You can go here and get the recipe to make ’em yourself. πŸ˜€

My local Whole Foods has started stocking up on raw desserts that have intrigued me for quite some time now. I finally decided to give one a try. How couldn’t I when it was the raw version of my favorite dessert ever…

Raw Creations Carrot Cheesecake
Raw Creations Carrot Cheesecake

Raw Creations is a local place that cranks up amazing raw desserts. Check out their website and look at the amazing things they make. This carrot cheesecake, I’m not gonna lie, was the best carrot cake I’ve had in my life. It was AMAZING! Like heaven in dessert form. Yum!

Bob's Peanut Butter Oat Bar
Bob’s Peanut Butter Oat Bar

I found this Bobo’s Oat Bar at my local health food store because it sounded amazing, but it was just ok. The PB flavor was not as strong as I thought it would be.

Last but not least..

Pancakes!
Pancakes!

I’ve been having these babies pretty much twice a week. They are so good and so easy to make. A definite fave recipe, for sure. I used this recipe and I just love how they come out. Fluffy, with just a hint of sweetness. Ah, nothing beats pancakes on a Saturday morning.

Alright guys that’s all I have for you for now! Sorry this post was so long, but I promise to be back more frequently once school is over. You all have an amazing weekend!

‘Til next time,

Evey Out!

9 thoughts on “Glorious Finals

  1. Welcome Back! I have so many things to comment on…

    How did you make those blondies so perfectly square?! They are so cute!

    Your mom needs to come and cook for me, that burger sounds phenomenal.

    I haven’t been able to find those twists at my TJ’s store!!! Maybe I just need to hunt a little harder.

    That mango kombucha was one of my favs too. It’s not a fizzy as the rest so it doesn’t upset my belly.

    All that raw-ness is just amazing. I have to make those donut holes ASAP!!!

  2. Yay, I’m so glad you’re back! I definitely know how that school thing goes… Thank goodness finals are coming to an end soon! You can make it!

    I love Lemon Larabars too. I totally didn’t think I would but I tried it anyway and now it’s one of my favorites!

    Haha, thanks for the Chi-town Diner shoutout! You are right, you definitely do need to try the PB Cookie Dough Shake, though the strawberry looks excelente. We need to go to the diner together one day, girlie! Maybe next semester we can do it!

    Ooooh, and you have touched another soft spot in my heart… BLONDIES! They are my fave dessert (well, not quite as good as the previously mentioned milkshake)! So good with chocolate chunks, figs, and almonds. Oh yeah. You know where the good eats are at, missy!

  3. Hey sweetie,

    Just started reading, but happy 1 year!

    I have to second Shelby how DID you get the blondies to look so perfect? That’s too nifty to pass up.

    Have a great Sunday darlin,

    With Love,

    Emily

  4. wow..
    wayyy too many good eats going on in this post!
    that pineapple cheesecake is what really won me over though πŸ™‚
    good luck with the rest of your schooling..it’ll be over soon!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

