Headin’ North

Here I go again… I’m off to another location! Oh, how I love to travel! I really hope to be able to do much more traveling once I have me some $$$.

This time the destination isn’t South, but up North. I’m off to Minneapolis, MN! I have never been up north and am prettyexcited for this trip. I am going there to attend a conference (in which I will present in as well!) and I think it’s going to be a great ol’ time.

I will be traveling with two other nursing students and we already have planned in a swim at the hotel’s pool!

But before I’m off, let’s review some of this week’s eats.

dscn5149
PB Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

I made VeggieGirl’s PB Banana Bread in muffin form for a potluck this weekend. I was inspired by the Hungry Yogini to make this recipe into muffins, plus it was easier way to disperse them at the potluck. I made 24 of these babies and NONE were left. Everyone raved over them and kept asking me for the recipe. Definitely a keeper!

Amy's Medium Chili with Veggies
Amy’s Medium Chili with Veggies

For lunch one of these days I decided to try some of Amy’s Chili. At first, I was lovin’ it. It is chock full of veggies and beans, but then as I started to eat more and more I realized that this was getting a bit too spicy for me. My mouth ended up on fire by the end of the bowl, but it was good. I topped it with Galaxy Vegan Rice Cheese slice, for good measure. Mmm, the only thing I needed was a good ol’ corn muffin.

Fruit N Yogurt
Fruit N Yogurt

Lately, I’ve been enjoying fresh fruit and yogurt for breakfast. Today I had raspberries, blueberries, and bananas topped with unsweetened shredded coconut alongside Silk raspberryyogurt. Mmm! So refreshing!

This week I was  bit by the baking bug, after such a success with the PB Banana Chocolate Chip muffins. I decided to make more baked goods! Once again, I decided to turn to the vegan baking queen for inspiration and decided to make her Almond Butter Hemp Cookies, with one yummy substitution.

Barney Butter Cookies
Barney Butter Cookies

I didn’t use just any almond butter… I used the most delicious one out there – Barney Butter! MMM! These cookies were AMAZING! Better than any peanut butter cookie I’ve ever consumed (and trust me, I’ve had a lot of them in my time). Definitely making these again, though sadly it won’t be anytime soon…

The deliciousness is gone! :-(
The deliciousness is gone! 😦

But luckily this awesome recipe yielded 8 large cookies (my favorite kind!) and I’m able to enjoy the taste of Barney Butter for a bit longer.

Barney Butter Cookie and Almond Milk
Barney Butter Cookie and Almond Milk

Yes, this snack had almond goodness all over it! 😀

I also had some very ripe bananas that were begging to be made into Veganomicon’s Lower Fat Banana Bread, although I don’t think my version of it was exactly “lower fat”. I decided to add in two tbsp of coconut oil and boy did it take this recipe to a whole nother level! This bread was so moist and bursting with banana goodness with a subtle hint of coconut sweetness. I highly recommend it!

Straight out of the oven
Straight out of the oven

I am going to finish up packing for my weekend excursion up north. My flight leaves tomorrow morning and I’m hopeing to have a swell time in the twin cities. I’m hoping to hit up the legendary Pizza Luce and grab some fresh baked goods at the French Meadow Bakery and Cafe. I’m excited!

Have a great weekend guys!

7 thoughts on “Headin’ North

  1. shelby says:

    Your baking adventures have got me itching to bake…maybe those cookes? Or the bread…hmm.

    Anyway I hope you have safe travels and eat yummy foods =)

  2. Evie, I was so excited when you linked to VeggieGirl’s hemp cookie recipe because I’ve been looking for a delicious way to use up the canister of dirt, um, I mean hemp protein powder sitting in my fridge, but now I see VG used vanilla hemp milk. No wonder the cookies were so good, and I have no doubt they were even more amazing with the addition of Barney Butter. Good call!

    All your baked treats look delicious, and I LOVE using coconut oil when baking. In fact, Chris and I use it in and on everything. Try it on a freshly baked sweet potato or butternut squash with a little salt and pepper…heavenly!

    Hope you have a wonderful trip up North and a great weekend. Good luck with your presentation.

  3. Oooh, I love VeggieGirl’s almond butter hemp cookies! Awww, you’re going to have so much fun in Minneapolis! I spent my freshman year there, and all the vegan culture & eats is what inspired me to transition to veganism. I never got to go to Pizza Luce — I’m super jealous — and French Meadows is top tier! I loved their hemp bagels, so thank goodness they ship frozen ones to our local Whole Foods.

  4. You make so many amazing things in the kitchen, Evie! I love that you subbed Barney Butter in those cookies – I’ve heard that it really makes baked goods taste AMAZING! I will definitely have to try that.

    HAVE FUN IN MINNEAPOLIS!! Before I wound up in Chicago for college, I spent most of my life there 😉 I hope you get to enjoy the city!

Leave a Reply

