Back From Break

Actually, I’ve been back for almost a week, but I barely found time to post until now. My, how time flies! I can’t believe that it was 3 weeks ago when I started my Spring Break Medical Missions Trip to Costa Rica and Nicaragua.

It was an awesome experience, where it was both rewarding and challenging at times. There were some days in which I wanted nothing more than to be at home, relaxing and having a break, but most of the time I was so happy and glad to have helped out so many people in need. It feels good to help others! Here are a few photos to recap the trip…

Arrived @ San Jose, Costa Rica Airport
Arrived @ San Jose, Costa Rica Airport
Pretty Blue Costa Rican Building
Pretty Blue Costa Rican Building
Costa Rica's National Theatre
Costa Rica’s National Theatre
1st Clinic Day... Dressed in Scrubs!
1st Clinic Day… Dressed in Scrubs!
Setting Up the Clinic
Setting Up the Clinic
Kids Playing Outside the Clinic
Kids Playing Outside the Clinic
Patients Waiting to Be Seen
Patients Waiting to Be Seen
The Pharmacy
The Pharmacy
See the Rainbow?
See the Rainbow?
@ the Costa Rica-Nicaragua Border... WELCOME TO NICARAGUA
@ the Costa Rica-Nicaragua Border… WELCOME TO NICARAGUA
1st Stop in Nicaragua? Restaurant!
1st Stop in Nicaragua? Restaurant!
Volcano
Volcano
Ahh... hammocks by the water...
Ahh… hammocks by the water…
Closer to a volcano... check out cloud on top!
Closer to a volcano… check out cloud on top!
At the Beach
At the Beach
The Clinic in Nicaragua
The Clinic in Nicaragua
Ready for Another Day of Clinic, Dressed in Scrubs
Ready for Another Day of Clinic, Dressed in Scrubs
Clinic
Clinic
Another Volcano.. so many in Nicaragua!
Another Volcano.. so many in Nicaragua!
Last Night, so we had a Fiesta.. pinata included!
Last Night, so we had a Fiesta.. pinata included!
Yours Truly took a couple swings @ it, blindfolded of course
Yours Truly took a couple swings @ it, blindfolded of course
Bye Nicaragua... It's time to go back home!
Bye Nicaragua… It’s time to go back home!

There is so much more photos of the trip that I can post, but I think this post already has enough pics, but if you have any questions about the trip, please don’t hesitate to post it. Like I said, it was an amazing and uique experience and I am so happy that I got to be a part of it.

Oh, but this is a food blog of course, so without further ado, the obligatory cookie post. πŸ˜‰

ABC Cookie of the Season - Peppermint Chocolate Delight
ABC Cookie of the Season – Peppermint Chocolate Delight

Very tasty.. if you love the combo of chocolate and mint, this is the cookie for you! Added bonus – vegan white chocolate chips!!

ABC Luscious Lemon Poppyseed Cookie
ABC Luscious Lemon Poppyseed Cookie

Wowee!! This cookie was the bomb diggity! Luscios lemon flavor and the awesome crunch of the poppyseed made this super sweet cookie a joy to eat. While some may find it a bit too sweet, it more than satisfied my ever present sweet tooth. Yumo.. go get yourself some vegan cookies!

Til next time, peeps!

10 thoughts on “Back From Break

  1. Wow, thanks for sharing all the Costa Rica and Nicaragua pics! It seems like it was not only a fun spring break, but a productive one too, since you were helping all those people! πŸ™‚

    Ahh, of course, I must comment on the food too! I too have tried the ABC cookie of the season… Love it! Mint chocolate is and always will be one of my favorite flavor combos. I love all things lemon poppyseed also… Have you ever tried a lemon poppyseed Heart Thrive (suncakes.com)? That’s something I definitely recommend!

    Have a great week back! We shall meet for real one of these days… I’m sure you were super exhausted from your trip, so I’m sure you needed all the rest possible when you got back!

  2. Welcome back!! What an incredible experience you journey must have been… Enormous high-fives to you for helping so many people and changing so many lives for the better! You’re an incredible nurse already!

  3. Evie,
    Looks like an amazing trip, and I’m so glad you went. Definitely not your typical spring break trip, but 100 times more rewarding than a week at some crazy beach, no? Very cool!

    I love anything chocolate mint. Must find that cookie soon!

    Have a good week my friend!

Leave a Reply

