Off to Central America

Hello all!

I just wanted to let everyone know that I will be departing to lovely Costa Rica and Nicaragua tonight, so I just wanted to tell you all I won’t be here for the next two weeks. I will try to take as many pics as I can to show you all… I am very excited to help out those in need! 🙂

I won’t leave you without sharing some eats I’ve had, so…

Berry Almond LUNA Bar

Berry Almond LUNA Bar

I wasn’t expecting much out of this bar, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is very fruity in taste, but the texture of it was kind of weird. Still pretty good, though.

Chocolate Chip CLIF Bar

Chocolate Chip CLIF Bar

I know a lot of people seem to really enjoy this flavor, but I wasn’t really into it. I thought it was just ok.

Banana Nut Bread

Banana Nut Bread

NOW THIS was TASTY! My new favorite CLIF Bar, hands down. This tasted NOTHING like an energy bar – it tasted like a freshly made baked good. The banana permeates the whole bar and there are chocolate chips thrown in there for good measure. I warmed mine up for about 15 secs, and it made this bar 10x better (ooey gooey goodness). I also noticed no weird aftertaste that some of the energy bars have. This is really good, guys. Definitely give it a try.

Shells & Chreese

Shells & Chreese

I had this the other day and thought they were pretty tasty, but I found myself adding a bit more salt and seasonings on it to my liking. It’s great for a quick meal, but it tasted just like Lindsay’s Fat Free Mac n Cheeze.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Of course, no post is complete without my fave dessert ever – cookies! I made a batch of The Everyday Vegan’s Oatmeal Raisin cookies to have throughout the week. Simple, fast, and oh so good! *NOTE, not my picture, but I thought you guys might like a visual, 😉

Heather asked me a good question in my last post about how I deal with my veganism when traveling to foreign countries. Well, I have been to Nicaragua before (this past summer, actually –  you can read about it here) and I was able to eat vegan while down there just fine. There is an abundance of fresh fruit and veggies available, as well as the staple of rice and beans provided at every meal. So, I am not worried at all about my being vegan, but just in case I am not able to find something to eat (which can occur in fast food places, restaurants, etc), then I have some CLIF, LUNA, and Larabars packed just for such an occasion. Thanks for pointing that out, Heather!

Alright, foodies, I’m out! See you in a couple of weeks, 😀

Nicaraguan Volcano.. Cool!

Nicaraguan Volcano.. Cool!

15 thoughts on “Off to Central America

  1. I’ve never been abroad while vegan — it’s good that you already know how you are going to handle the situation! The banana nut bread Clif bar is the first one I ever had and it is also in my top 3 favorites! I hope you have a blast and are safe in Nicaragua. Will I still be able to reach you regarding meeting up on March 14? I talked to my friend and she would really like to do it too! Maybe we can get together for lunch or dinner, assuming the trip is still happening on my end.

Leave a Reply

