V Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day everybody!

I normally don’t do much on this “holiday”.. it’s probably because I’ve always lacked a significant other. But I’m sure once I have one this day will have more meaning. Plus, it is my personal dream to have my wedding day take place on Feb 14! πŸ˜‰

Anyhoo, not only is it Valentine’s Day.. but it’s also my Veganniversary! What a coinky-dink that it falls on Valentine’s Day, no? It was a year ago today that I made the decision to become a vegan (having been a lacto-ovo vegetarian for about 9 months). I took the plunge and haven’t looked back since. I have never looked or felt better in my whole life and I owe much of that to my vegan diet. I am very happy to have made this decision.. it truly changed my life (for the better!).

What better way to celebrate V Day than to have a delicious meal at none other than The Chicago Diner?

Raw Linguine and "Crab" Cakes
Raw Linguine and “Crab” Cakes

I ordered today’s raw special, which is zucchini-liguine noodles with crimini mushroom cashew alfredo sauce, with macadamia-porcini “crab” cakes, served with marinated kale-vegetable salad. Wow, was the “alfredo sauce” soooo good, guys! I don’t know what they did to the zucchini, but they totally felt like actual noodles. The crab cakes were salty with just the right amount of crunch to them and the marinated kale salad was so light and flavorful, it rounded off the meal ever so nicely! This was a great way to celebrate my veganniversary, though sadly, they did not have the dessert I was planning for (the raw blueberry cheezecake), but I think it was for good reason.. this meal left me stuffed! Maybe next time?

Another view of the rawsome meal
Another view of the rawsome meal

Before I left to go to the Chicago Diner, I had my mom prepare a favorite of mine.

Mmm.. coconut!
Mmm.. coconut!

A Thai baby coconut that was filled to the brim with delicious and refreshing coconut water. The meat was so good as well, being slighty “slimy” and perfectly sweet. Yum! If you’ve never drank pure coconut water, you’re missing out!

While on a Whole Foods run this week, I noted a new prepared goodie available at the prepared food section: a vegan tamale!

Tamale proudly proclaiming its "vegan-ness"
Tamale proudly proclaiming its “vegan-ness”

The tamale was very good! More tasty than the chicken ones I used to eat in my pre-veg days. I used to LOVE eating tamales in the wintertime.. but ever since I became veg, I knew I would have to say goodbye to these lovely packets of masa goodness, because lard is used to make them. But thanks to my WF, I can FINALLY get my tamale fix. Hooray!

My yummy mushroom-spinach tamale w/ veggies and pico de gallo. YUM!
My yummy mushroom-spinach tamale w/ veggies and pico de gallo. YUM!

Others eats this week include…

dscn4600

Chocolate PB Swril Spiru-tein with Larabar Banana Bread
Chocolate PB Swirl Spiru-tein with Larabar Banana Bread

Umm, I didn’t really like this protein powder. Has anyone tried this flavor? It tasted like.. nothing! Is there any tasty vegan protein powder anywhere??

dscn4603

Gluten-free Soy Cheeze Baked Ziti with Peas, aka HOLY YUM
Gluten-free Soy Cheeze Baked Ziti with Peas, aka HOLY YUM

I didn’t know Amy’s made gluten free pasta, but VEGAN GLUTEN-FREE PASTA.. I had to get my hands on some and I was so glad I did! This was 100x better than I imagined it to be. Kudos to Amy’s for making a bowl of deliciousness.

I tried a new bar this week…

Luna S'mores Bar
Luna S’mores Bar

I decided to give this a try after Brooke raved about it, but I found it to be just ok.

My first raw breakfast!

Raw Coconut Pancake topped with shredded coconut
Raw Coconut Pancake topped with shredded coconut

The recipe comes from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen and while at first I was hesitant about this pancake, I found it to be super filling. I was surprised this little pancake could satiate me for a full 5 1/2 hours, but it did just that. Not only was it filling, but it was quite tasty as well. Delicately sweet with a hint of coconut in every bite. Raw food does it again!

dscn4620

Ramen! I mean, Udon Noodle Soup
Ramen! I mean, Udon Noodle Soup

This soup sent my taste buds back in time to the days in which I had Chicken Ramen Noodles for lunch. It was so good, the noodles were perfect and so reminiscent of ramen, I felt a bit naughty eating this. It’s actually quite healthy!

MY SECRET CUPID!

The goods!
The goods!

Allison from Green Dog Wine was my secretΒ  cupid and she sent me a box full of goodies! She noticed my love for Larabars and WCMN Clif bars, and also added in some cute VDay stuff, such as socks and a kitchen towel (how did you know I needed one?). THANK YOU SO MUCH ALLISON.. I couldn’t have asked for a better gift. You seriously rock, girl!

And before I leave, here’s a little dessert I had from Borrowed Earth Cafe

Out of this World Vanilla Chocolate Cheesecake
Out of this World Vanilla Chocolate Cheesecake

And yes, it was out of this world.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend guys!

20 thoughts on “V Day!

  1. I actually decided to go veg on Valentine’s day to! I don’t actually consider my vegiversery until a week later when I fully weanedmyself off everything. πŸ™‚

  2. I am always so jealous of your excursions to the Chicago Diner–next time I am in Chicago we should totally go together!

    By coincidence, I used that same flavor of Spirutein this evening!

  3. YAY! I am so so so glad you liked everything (and I hope all the items are vegan – if not I’m SO sorry!) I would be honored if you would add my to your blogroll – thanks for asking! πŸ™‚

    Happy Vday and Anni! Those zucchini linguinie look AMAZING!

  4. AMAZING FOOOOOOD!!! I used to love that Amy’s GF pasta – now if only it was soy-free too… sigh 😦

    Congratulations on your veganniversary!!

    Hooray for package from Allison of Green Dog Wine!! She’s awesome πŸ™‚

  5. Evie, I did not see one cookie in this post…where’s the love? πŸ™‚

    Happy Vegan anniversary – so exciting. You sound that you truly love your lifestyle and way of eating. It think that is awesome!

    I’ve read only good things about Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen. It’s definitely on my cookbook list which has gotten way too long! I could spend way too much money in the cookbook section of any bookstore.

    Glad tamales are back in your life. πŸ™‚

  6. Happy Veganversary! =)

    I wish I went to the Chicago Diner yesterday, the food sounds delicious.
    I love coconut water too but I can’t say I’ve ever had it straight out of a coconut.

    Horray for Vegan Tamales!
    Love that soup bowl! Have you ever tried the miso flavor…uhh it’s so freakin good.

    I love the Soy Chocolate Protein Powder from Whole Foods. It’s the store brand so it’s cheaper but it’s so delicious.

    Amazing Secret Cupid gifts! Make sure to tell me how you like that JamFrakas bar, I can’t find any other flavors.

  7. aww happy vegan-versary!! haha that’s wonderful!
    its my dream too to get married on v-day one year..wouldnt that just be so sweet? πŸ˜‰
    yumm that vanilla chocolate cheesecake looks AMAZING. what a perfect thing to eat on valentines day! haha πŸ™‚

  8. cleanveggiex3 says:

    oh wow where to begin!!
    i love amys – and that baked ziti sounds delicious!
    s’mores luna bar = love
    && your tamale makes me want to try one!

  9. ooo, im so glad you found my blog because now im reading yours, and i love it! it is fun to know another vegan nurse out there – additionally, happy veganniversary! πŸ™‚ all the eats look delish, cant go wrong with amys and whole foods! how far into school are you? do you know what concentration you want to end up in? (i had NO clue what kind of nursing i wanted to do, even after graduating fyi)

  10. I love the Luna S’mores bar, but then I eat them a lot as a recovery food for my bike training. They are somewhat “engineered” in taste but after eating a few, they’re really quite addictive. Try the chocolate peppermint stick or another good one is the Nutz over Chocolate…yum.

  11. The Chicago Diner plate looks out of this world! Oh, how I love that restaurant! Raw marinated kale is seriously sooo good.

    +10 points for the raw coconut pancakes! That’s an awesome recipe.

Leave a Reply

