Happy February!

I can’t believe it’s Feburary already! My, how time flies!

I’m not a big Super Bowl fan, so I decided to take a break from homework and update my blog.

Some eats I have been able to photograph…

Dessert

Karyn’s Dream Cream (Vanilla) w/ scoop of WF fresh ground raw cashew butter

Totally raw and totally delicious!

dscn4397

Uncle Eddie’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

dscn4410

Tasty, but I’ve had better. I recently discovered that these cookies have been recalled! Uh-oh! Good thing I polished off the bag before I knew of this. Don’t worry, thankfully, I did not get sick! 🙂

Comfort Meals

Amy’s Shepard Pie, Steamed Seasoned Veggies, and an Orange

dscn4402dscn4406

Mmm… so scrumptious! So comforting..

White Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Oatmeal

dscn4400

WOW! What a delicious bowl of oats, guys!! Seriously, you MUST try this! I took 1/2 dry oats, cooked it in vanilla hempmilk (fave nondairy milk), added a tbsp of unsweetened coconut, a tbsp of flax, drizzled in some agave, topped it with a dollop of oh-so-good macadamia butter and vegan white chocolate chips. Can you say ‘holy yum’?? Healthy decadence, for sure!

New Find

Hazelnut Butter

dscn4403

Although I am mad about the PB recall deal, it had given me an opportunity to broaden my nut butter horizons. I already tried raw cashew butter and macadamia butter, and both were quite tasty, it was only a matter of time when I would try the VeggieGirl approved Futters Nut Butters. My WF started to stock up on these nut butters and there were so many to choose from (pistachio, almond, strawberry almond, walnut.. the list goes on!), yet it was not hard to decide which one I would want to try first. I knew that VeggieGirl speaks quite highly of Hazelnut Butter, so I decided to give it a go. Thoughts? While I did not like it as much as I enjoy cashew or macadamia, it is a welcome change from the norm. I would recommend this to people who really enjoy the unique flavor of hazelnuts.

Not only did I enjoy my new nut butter straight up and on bread, I also was able to bake up a special treat for someone and let me tell you, they smelled fantastic! I hope the person I baked them for enjoys them!

I’m curious, what are your guys’ favorite nut butters?

Exciting News…

I was one of the lucky bloggers who got to receive a VitaMix Super 5200! Thanks to Alison and Vita-Mix for this wonderful opportunity! I can not express how much this means to me, as I’ve always wanted this powerful blender, and now I own one!

Unfortunately, I am not able to keep the blender here in my dorm, but I sometimes go back home on weekends, and when I’m there I get to use my amazing machine. One thing I love to whip up with my Vita-Mix is a refreshing green smoothie.

dscn4412

Using the “standard” recipe of a cup of liquid (I used vanilla soymilk), a banana, and a cup of spinach, I was able to whip up a delicious and nutritious drink. Wow! It’s so amazing how this thing blends… Look at how pretty the smoothie is. No green chunks whatsoever… just pure blended goodness!

I can’t wait to use it for many other recipes I’ve been dying to try. If you are able to purchase one of these babies, I HIGHLY recommend it. It is so worth the investment. And if you can’t, I highly advise you save up for it.. it is worth every penny!

Well, this update took longer than I expected it to! I’ve got some studying to finish up on. Hope everyone else had a good weekend. It’s back to the grind..

6 thoughts on “Happy February!

  1. what is the superbowl? kidding 🙂 i dont watch it either!

    your eats look fantastic! i must try your oatmeal! and i love futters (thanks to liz!!!) i highly recommend the strawberry almond butter – it is amazing.

    best of luck with your homework! and remember you can always make a yummy smoothie to keep your energy flowing! xo

  2. Happy February to you too!!!

    I must get my hands on some Futters Strawberry Almond Butter! I saw some at my whole foods but it’s cheaper online.

    Evey, that oatmeal combination is INSANE! HOLY YUM!!!!!

Leave a Reply

