Overdue Post

Hey guys!

I am currently back at school, since last Monday actually, so it’s the start of a new semester. While I do think break went by too fast, I am happy to get started with the new school year. More on that later cause right now I owe you some food pics!

On my last day before going back to school, my sisters treated me by going out to the Chicago Diner. Here’s what my sister’s had:

The Dagwood Sandwich

The Dagwood Sandwich

BBQ "Bacon" Cheezeburger

BBQ "Bacon" Cheezeburger

Since they were still serving brunch when we arrived, I decided to order…

French Toast Combo

French Toast Combo

Of course, the food was smashin’ and we all cleaned up our plates. We were so full we couldn’t even fathom the idea of dessert, so we didn’t get any. The French Toast was so good, it tasted just like funnel cake! Another yummy meal from the Chicago Diner. Ah, how I love this place!

When I arrived back to campus, our university had opened up our brand new student union. In this new union, I can actually find some pretty good (and healthy!) vegan meals and let me tell you, it is so nice to know that sometimes when time is short, I can just go pick something up from the union instead of hastily trying to make my meal and scarf it down before my next class.

During one of these times, this little fella caught my eye…

Veggie California Sushi Rolls

Veggie California Sushi Rolls

I’ve never had sushi before so I was excited to finally get to try this ethnic treat and boy, was I glad I did. I am officially a sushi lover now. Gosh, is this what I’ve been missing all this time? No wonder these little rolls have so many fans. The taste is interesting, where it can be slightly sweet and have an “ocean” taste to them. I really enjoyed them and I’m glad my school sells them though I do wish they could get some that have brown rice.

My school is also stocking up on a favorite of mine…

Larabars! I got to try two flavors.

Chocolate Coconut Chew

Chocolate Coconut Chew

Cherry Pie

Cherry Pie

I have said it before and I’ll say it again – I’m NOT a chocolate fan, but for some reason, I’m loving cocoa powder! Because I love the Jocalats and I really loved the Chocolate Coconut Chew bar. It was really good with just a perfect hint of coconut. I can’t say the same thing about the Cherry Pie flavor though. I have tried this flavor before and wasn’t a big fan of it the first time, but I thought I would give it a second chance, and I still wasn’t really into the tartness. Oh well, I’ve got many other fab flavors to choose from. πŸ™‚

Oh! I almost forgot about this AMAZING raw ice cream I got before leaving for school.

Karyn's Vanilla Dream Cream

Karyn's Vanilla Dream Cream

On our way back home from the Chicago Diner my sister saw that we found Karyn’s other restaurant. Simply called Karyn’s, it is her raw vegan gourmet restaurant that also has a small cafe/store attached to it. We decided it’d be cool to check it out, since we were in the area. Lately, I’ve been really intrigued by the raw food movement, and it’s something I would totally love to do. While browsing through the store, there were so many things I wanted to buy, but one thing that caught my eye was this raw ice cream. This ice cream was so good, guys! It was creamy and the vanilla flavor was spot-on with a subtle taste of coconut. Really good!

That’s all the food pics I have for you for now. I really would love to get back to posting my daily eats, so I will try to make an effort, but we’ll see how my schedule goes. Speaking of schedules, this semester I am taking ALL nursing courses, which is new for me, since I’ve always had to do an elective. Though I am thrilled to be focusing on solely nursing, I am sort of going to miss taking other classes. This semester I am taking:

  • Nursing Care of the Adult II (aka Med Surg)
  • Gerontological Nursing
  • Service Learning Project in Health Care in Central America (I’m going on a medical missions trip during Spring Break to Costa Rica and Nicaragua! Exciting!)
  • Nursing Care of the Childbearing Family (aka OB Nursing! The field I want to go into!)

Oh, goodness, that took longer than expected! Got to go guys, but like I said, I will try my best to post more daily eats! You all have a good night. πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “Overdue Post

  1. i wish you the best of luck this semester evey! you will do great πŸ™‚

    all of your meals delicious, as usual! i am so intrigued by the raw ice cream! it sounds amazing. and the portable sushi looks great too! i always forget about sushi but its a great meal on the go!

    larabars! i have not tried the chocolate coconut but now i will have to! i agree that the cherry is tart (the only one i dont like!)

    have a great night girly!

  2. Welcome Back Evey!!! I wish you the best in the next semester.

    Come on girl! Why must you tease me with these inticing Chicago Diner meals?!? I now have to convince my mom to drive me all the way there or learn to drive on the highway haha

    I think you might like the chocolate powder because it’s not as sweet as regular chocolate…I don’t know. But I do know those bars are amazing.

  3. Welcome back, dear girl!! Keep on shining during the semester πŸ™‚

    SO FREAKING ENVIOUS OF THE KARYN’S ICE CREAM!!!! I neeeed to try it when I get back to Chicago.

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  4. I wish I had a Chicago Diner near me! I’ve always wanted to try raw ice cream but unfortunately there’s nothing like that here in Austin.

    Good luck with school!

  5. Welcome back Evey! Missed you. Sounds like your semester is off to a good start, and that is so great that your student union sells vegan food! Glad you enjoyed your first sushi experience.

    Raw ice-cream. Totally jealous. I don’t think they sell anything like that in Nashville. I’ll have to find Karyn’s AND the Chicago Diner next time Chris and I are in Chicago. Hope you stocked up on some cookies to bring back to school with you. πŸ™‚

  6. Mia Gomez** says:

    AWESOME!:DD
    lol i had fun that day!:DD
    omg evy im actually reading the ‘Skinny Bitch’ Book lol
    it is soo interesting and now i dont feel like eating dairy no more……:(
    lol tell u more on the phone!!:)))

  7. That ice cream looks so delicious!!

    Actually, it looks like good foods all around! I wish I could find more stuff like this near me πŸ™‚ Oh well, right?

  8. i’m so jealous of all the vegan and raw foods around you!!! i’d kill to just walk into a restaurant and order tofu. it’s so unheard of here. i live in pittsburgh.

    i hope your classes go well!!! my sister is thinking about going into nursing. i hear it’s VERY tough, so good luck!

  9. Ooooh, Karyn’s has raw ice cream? Reason #213434 why Chicago is awesome.

    I didn’t like my first Cherry Pie Larabar, either, but the second one kinda grew on me. Jocalats are fantabulous, though!

    Hooray for Chicago Diner meals and a semi vegan-savvy student union!

  10. Nicole says:

    The Chicago Diner sounds so amazing. I hope I can make it there someday. I do have a friend in Chicago I want to visit!

    Good luck with school!

  11. Hey Miss Evey!

    Oh gosh, you know what would be so much fun? If we could have a sleepover! We could watch Love, Actually and swoon over colin firth (well, I would anyway!). Then we could eat lotsa yummy vegan foods… and you could make crepes ;o)
    (because I still can’t get over how beautiful those crepes of yours were).

    My Whole Foods sells coconut date rolls… but if you flatten a coconut larabar, it tastes the same :o).

  12. gooshh i am crazy to go to chicago diner…this all look delicious

    haha believe me that if i had a lot of money i pay to go to chicago only to eat there :S here in puerto rico there are many veg restaurants but not like that one.. x)

  13. Hey! Good luck with your schedule! It looks like it’s going to be a busy one. I’m taking OB right now too as well as ethics, and peds! I was supposed to be in gero too but it was full? How unfair. haha. that raw ice cream sounds great!

Leave a Reply

