Weekend Wrap-Up 12/20-12/21

Hello my bloggies! Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a great weekend. My weekend was great, except for the awful weather we’ve been having lately! Yesterday was so frigid that it was so hard to breathe outside! No wonder I couldn’t breathe, it was -5 degrees, but with the wind it felt -30!!! Brrr!

Needless to say, I think I will be staying indoors today, haha.

On to the weekend’s eats! I didn’t take pics of ALL my food (sorry, forgot my camera sometimes! I gotta get the hang of carrying it with me all the time), but here are the ones I did take.

On Saturday morning my sister wanted to go to the Chicago Diner for their amazing brunch! I was so happy! I decided to keep my breakfast light with a bowl of the SWEETEST PAPAYA EVER and an orange. Light and refreshing!

dscn3345

Then we headed over to the Chicago Diner! I have gone there once before, but it was for dinner. I’ve never had a vegan burnch before, so you could say I was pretty excited! I had my eye on the Cornbread French Toast, but once I got there, the waitress recommended I get the special – Bananas Foster French Toast. Ummm, yes please!

dscn3354

Let me just say.. THANKS A MILLION to my waitress for recommending this! HOLY YUM! The Bananas Foster French Toast is described as “oven baked banana walnut bread dipped in our new french toast batter and grilled to a golden brown… topped with a rich caramel rum sauce with toasted walnuts.” It should be described as heaven on a plate. Yes, this was the most rich and decadent breakfast I have ever had in my life. It was soo good, guys. I savored each and every bite of the banana bread. It was so moist and just so perfect. Ah, I can’t stop raving about it!

For your viewing pleasure, my little sister chowing down on her Chickin Filet Sandwich w/Sweet Potato Fries.

dscn3355

Needless to say, after such a decadent brunch, I could not even fathom the idea of dessert, but my sisters wanted some, so they ordered the vegan Cocoa Mousse Cake.

dscn3356

I’m not a chocolate lover, but I’m guessing it was good…

dscn3360dscn3361

I was full pretty much all day, but I did manage to eat some sort of dinner later that night. I had some cole slaw, roasted asparagus and green beans, and some more of my mom’s yummy chipotle lentil soup (this time it was pureed).

dscn3363

I know I had a very decadent brunch, but I still wanted to end the night with something sweet, so I served myself a scoop of Purely Decadent Snickerdoodle Ice Cream and a dollop of Soyatoo. Best vegan ice cream ever!

dscn3365

On Sunday…

Breakfast was a Chai Spice Scone I bought at the Chicago Diner on Saturday with an orange, banana, and Ginger Zing tea (not pictured). The scone was so perfect! It was slightly sweet, had perfect crumbly texture, and was delicious to boot! If you ever find Chicago Diner scones at your Whole Foods, get one! They’re so good!

dscn3372

dscn3375

For lunch, I had a frozen meal. I know, I know! I should be cooking home meals now that I’m at home and there are no time constraints from school and such, but this meal sounded tasty at the time and I’ve just come home from church and I wanted something quick. So, I heated up a vegan Pad Thai Tofu meal that my mom got from Whole Foods. I had that with the last of my mom’s chipotle lentil soup (this stuff was so good!).

dscn3376

For dinner, I had some beans, rice, and some more of my roasted green beans and asparagus. No pic, sorry!

For dessert, I had an ABC Snickerdoodle Cookie. Yumlicious!

dscn33791

Overall, I had quite the tasty weekend! Now, I’m going to finish my brekkie and then start reading some books. I bought Twilight so I guess I should start on that. I’ve heard from so many bloggers and friends that it’s good. Enjoy your day guys!

11 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up 12/20-12/21

  1. Chicago Diner sounds like such a great place for brunch. Too bad I don’t live anywhere near 😦

    I’ve read all of the Twilight series and so have all of my friends. Let’s just say that once you get started, you can’t stop. They’re that good!

  2. -5 degrees ?!? I would die!

    I’ve saw pictures of the Chicago Diner’s food on VeggieGirl’s blog. Looks amazing, and I will definitely go there next time I’m in Chi-town! So glad you brought your camera for that meal – would hate to have missed pics of the banana bread french toast 🙂

    I’ve never had Purely Decadent’s Snickerdoodle ice-cream before. I’m lovin their coconut milk line these days, but will definitely look for the Snickerdoodle. Afterall, it’s one of my favorite cookies!

    Have a good week Evey!

  3. I’ve always wanted to go to the Chicago Diner, I only live about an hour away. I was hoping to go to the city for x-mas but it’s just so cold!!!

    I have yet to try that Snickerdoodle Ice Cream, but I really want some!!! I think I would freeze even more though haha

  4. Ah Chicago 🙂 How are you holding up in the cold? I’m not looking forward to going back to school!!

    I’ve never been to the Chicago Diner before, but I’m going to have to go at some point because everything looks delicious!

    I really hope that you like Twilight 🙂

  5. Oh mercy that is cold! I’m so glad you stopped by our blog today so I could check yours out! It looks great. 🙂 That meal, of course, is making me jeal. I’ve never been to Chicago. I know – no excuse for that, right? 🙂

  6. gina (fitnessista) says:

    haha love the pic of your sis! so cute!
    i’ll be on the lookout for those scones…
    i ❤ vegan ice cream 😀
    hope you have a wonderful night!

  7. i am so glad you are back to blogging! 🙂

    wow, vegan bananas foster french toast! you made an excellent choice! and the caaaake and scone! oh my goodness!

    the snickerdoodle ice cream is my FAVORITE flavor! and of course i love the ABC cookies! i can’t believe the only flavor i have not tried yet is the snickerdoodle! considering i love anything snickerdoodle 🙂

    p.s thank you so much for the lasagna link! it is my favorite recipe that ive looked at so far! 🙂

Leave a Reply

