Fall is Here!

Hey guys! How was everyone’s week? Busy, I know!

But we’ve made it through another busy week, it’s time to get prepared for the next busy week ahead (ahh.. busyness doesn’t seem to be going away anytime soon).

This past week I had TWO nursing exams and a ton of reading and studying to do for other classes, too. While I am sad to report I didn’t do as well as I thought I had on my Med Surg exam (I got a 78, :-(. That’s almost failing in the nursing program.. sigh, I am not gonna let that get me down. I know now what to expect on tests and now it’s a matter of really buckling down and studying my butt off. I guess we nursing students are expected not to have a social life, haha. I am pleased to report that I did really well in my other nursing class, Psych Mental Health. I got a 91 on that exam.. so yay for me! 😀

This week I also had my Psych clinical rotation and we went to a nearby health center that focused on patients with Alzheimer’s Disease. Now I was a bit apprehensive about this clinical.. the only exposure I’ve had to people with Alzheimer’s was through movies so I was expecting these patients to be somewhat like that. What we basically had to do in this clinical was to talk with the patients and “get a feel” of what is means to take care of these types of patients.

Well, the actual experience was both the way I thought it would be and what I didn’t think it would be. First, I learned that Alzheimer’s is NOT a mental illness. It is a biological illness that has a cause. I also thought that these patients would be extremely forgetful and found that, yes, they were pretty forgetful, but not in the way I had imagined. I was able to hold very interesting conversations with some of the patients. One patient I talked with was born and raised from Chicago and I was amazed at how well he remembered certain past events of his life, but when I asked him what he had for breakfast that morning, he was at a loss!

Another patient I talked with was a 94 year old woman who sometimes had my laughing so hard my belly hurt! The way I communicated with her was pretty interesting.. she was very hard of hearing so I had to write my questions down and she would read and answer me back. It was very different to what I would normally communicate with patients, but this was what worked and I was able to have an engaging conversation with her, though sometimes I did find their attention to sway elsewhere, but all of them seemed to experience this.

By the end of my clinical, all of the patients were sad to see me and my classmates leave. They were so happy to have someone to talk with them, to listen, even if it was for just a little while. This really had made their day and I felt so good for being able to have been able to help these patients, even if it was simply lending an ear.

I love how relaxed and non-traditional my Psych clinicals are… very different from the fast-paced environment of my Med Surg clinical. I’m still not sure what area exactly I would like to work in the most, but surprisingly, I’m finding to like the Psych field more and more.

That was my nursing tale of the week.. this Tuesday I have my Med Surg clinical once again, so I’m really nervous about it, but I know it’s all part of the learning experience and I’m not expected to be perfect at these clinicals. Tomorrow night I go to the hospital to pick up my assignment and do the prep work beforehand.. I must prep really well in order to do well on Tuesday!

I didn’t get to photograph too many meals this week due to the studying for my two nursing exams, but I was able to have some good eats after my exams, like today for instance. I welcomed the start of Fall with a most appropriate breakfast…

Pumpkin Waffles from VwaV!

I topped this waffle with a drizzle of pure maple syrup, banana slices, chopped pecans, dried cherries, some powdered sugar and a dollop of Soyatoo whip cream. Mmm!! So good, guys! Seriously, make these waffles!!

Yesterday, I was also able to cook up an elaborate breakfast, in order to treat myself for surviving another busy week of school…

Vcon’s Crepes!

After having watched numerous commercials on TV for IHOP’s crepe fever.. I found myself aching for some crepes, too! Luckily, I had all the ingredients on hand and so whipped these up in no time. WOW! These crepes are amazing! I had made some vegan crepes before with success, but these babies were really well behaved! They were super easy to make and I didn’t even a tear a single one! I stuffed my crepes with peanut butter and banana slices and topped them with some maple syrup and confectioner’s sugar. Delish! I even made one for my roommate (an omni) that was filled with vegan chocolate chips and she wouldn’t stop raving about them.

I also made a tofu scramble on Friday that I literally just put together in 5 minutes, tossing in every spice in my cupboard that sounded appealing, and voila! Deliciousness is served!

This week I also made another batch of easy Vegan Mixed Veggie Chili topped with cheeze. I can never get enough of this combo, it’s so good!

The cheeze sauce is so good.. I found myself enjoying it spread on some Wasa crackers for a snack.

Sometimes I found myself short on time during the week to cook a nice dinner, so I whipped up protein rich smoothies to have.

This smoothie was made using a banana, soymilk, vanilla soy yogurt, half a block of silken tofu, Lifetime Life’s Basics Plant Protein Powder, cinnamon, and date sugar. A really filling, yet fast dinner! This was my first time trying a protein powder, and I’m kind of on the fence with this brand. It does seem to have an aftertaste to it, but it might’ve been because I put in too much. Will have to adjust this in the future.

While I was deciding what to have for dinner today, I found that I had bought an acorn squash a while back that needed to be eaten asap. Using this recipe I had some yummy squash for dinner that was way better than I thought it would be. Who knew such a simple recipe would produce such a tasty way to enjoy this Fall vegetable?

Oh! And I found a new nut butter obsession!

Sooo good! I’ve been known to have two tbsp of this stuff straight up for dessert! Mmm!

Today I baked and cooked up a storm today so I can have interesting meals throughout the week. What did I make you ask? You’ll have to tune in next week to find out! 😉

19 thoughts on “Fall is Here!

  1. Aww, i’m so glad the patients enjoyed your visit. My grandma has Alzheimer’s; it’s a really horrible disease.

    I want ALL your breakfasts. Can I switch places with your roommate? Hmmm, well, I guess after eating your crepes, she probably wouldn’t switch with me!

  2. I love hearing about your experiences in clinicl~Especially since I’ll be in those two next semester! My great-grandma has dementia, so I definitely know what you mean about someone being able to recall an event that happened ages ago, but forget something that happened 2 seconds ago. It breaks my heart, but it’s SO rewarding to know that you made their day!

    I’m speechless after looking at your meal pictures! I’m definitely considering treating myself to breakfasts like yours more often after all of this studying! Haha, I remember my nursing professors saying that our social life is pretty much shot now :0)…Pharm is taking over mine for sure! How on earth did you study for that class?! Have a WONDERFUL week, girl!!

  3. Omg! I want those waffles!!! I’ve been eating a lot of pumpkin lately and now I have a waffle-maker…I just don’t have VwaV!! Your crepes look amazing too, I wish I had more time during the week to make them. And your scramble…drool! Who am I kidding I just want all of your breakfasts!

  4. your weekend was full of wonderful breakfast treats! i love love v’cons pumpkin waffles, they are so yummy. and i love your extra toppings (especially the dried cherries!)

    oh and your acorn squash! winter squash is my most favorite vegetable and its one of the many reasons why i love fall so much! but i have always prepared them the oven with earth balance and brown sugar too. it is so simple and so delicious. ive tried so many different varieties and have perfected the baking and cooking techniques over the years so if you ever have any questions feel free to ask. 🙂

  5. That cheeze really is delicious! I just made some after seeing your post and I kid you not, I was so tempted to eat it with a spoon!
    I’m sorry to hear about your med surg test but congratulations on your psych test! And I’m glad to hear you had a nice time with the Alzheimer’s patients, I’m sure they thoroughly enjoyed your company!

  6. Hooray for autumn, great exam scores, delicious eats, and enjoyable clinicals!! 🙂

    Seriously, I’m so happy to read to that everything is going so well for you – keep it up!! Can’t wait to see what you’ve been cooking/baking!!

  7. I love reading about the clinical!

    Your breakfasts look so good, I seriously need to try those recipes!
    And I’m so jealous of your mighty maple PB, it’s nowhere to be found here in Miami. 😦

  8. Thanks so much for the comment on your blog! I’m glad that I’ve found your blog now because I love it! Regarding your question, I went to the new Robek’s Juice location in Lake Forest.

    What a coincidence! I just has some acorn squash last night, and the recipe that you used is exactly how I eat mine. And I’m sooooo jealous about the maple peanut butter. I haven’t been able to find it yet!

  9. those breakfast look divine!!
    what did you season the squash with?? i’ve been thinking of making one but am weirdly afraid of them
    thanks so much for your comment on my blog- it’s helped me find yours 😀
    and yes, those brown rice crispy treats are the best!
    have a happy thursday!

  10. Your clinicals sound like so much fun 😀

    hello, waffles and crepes! somebody’s been watching too much tv! lol. i don’t blame you though. haha

    looking forward to seeing what you baked!

  11. It’s really interesting to read about your clinicals! My little sister is a sophomore nursing major, so I guess she’ll be going through the same things pretty soon. My aunt has Alzheimer’s — it’s really sad. It basically is eating away the rest of her life, so she probably won’t last too much longer.
    On a brighter note, those pumpkin waffles look wonderful! I love, love, love that recipe. I need to make it again but I’m having trouble getting off my pumpkin oatmeal fix — thank goodness for pumpkin! I’m so glad it’s pumpkin season again!!! Your crepes sound incredible, too. I am not brave enough to try to make those yet. I’ve been looking for that Mighty Maple PB. I want it so badly!!! I love how you count it as your dessert. Hehe.

  12. Your meals are so beautiful!! Congrats on your psych test, and try not to stress too much about your med surg test – I bombed my first one too, and then the rest were just fine. You’ll do great!!

Leave a Reply

