Psych!

The week went by kinda of slow for me. Unfortunately, it was a full week, meaning I did have to go to class on Labor Day (ugh, I know, how awful is that?), but I didn’t let that get me down.

Sure there was a ton of work to be done all throughout the week, but I find that if you have something to look forward to, then it doesn’t seem all that bad.

For me that one thing to look forward to this week (besides the weekend) was my first clinical of the semester, which happened to be my Psych Mental Health Clinical Rotation. I’m not sure if you guys really know what clinicals are, so I’ll explain.

When you are in the nursing program, you have to complete clinicals at a certain point in your curriculum. Clinicals are when you go to an actual nursing unit (usually at a hospital) and you do things for patients that you have learned (or will learn) about in class. Usually, you go to the hospital the night before to collect data about your patient (your clinical instructor picks a patient on the floor for you) and basically, you are responsible for that patient. After you recieved patient info, you go home and work on a treatment plan, complete with a nursing diagnosis. You also look up information on the medications your patient is taking so that the next day you know all about your patient and therefore can provide better care for your clincal shift. Really, clincals are basically another class that’s really more “hands-on” and exciting, if you are a nursing student (after all, this is what you will be doing as a career so you should like this part a lot!).

This semester, I take two nursing classes: Medical-Surgical Care of the Adult Patient and Psych Mental Health Nursing. Each of these class has a 5 hour clinical component that is done once every two weeks. That is to say, one week I have Psych Clinical, the next week I’ll have Med-Surg Clinical.

This week was my first clinical of the semester and it happened to be my Psych clinical. Now, I don’t know about you, but I love psychology! It just really fascinates me how much the mind works and effects your body. So, it was no wonder that I look forward to my psych clinical right? Well, needless to say, I REALLY enjoyed my Psych clinical! It’s really laid back and there’s no “prep” work to be done the night before. You just show up for your shift (mine is from 7:00-12:00 every other Thu) and get your patient’s data that morning and then you just go in and meet your patient and you just… talk. That’s really it! You just talk to your patient. Mind you, some patients will be difficult to talk to (ie, those with schizophrenia, etc), but that’s the challenge a nurse must meet in order to take care of those who are facing a different kind of illness.

I did enjoy my psych clinical. I got to see patients who were diagnosed with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. My patient was in the hopsital due to a major depressive disorder and it was just heart-breaking to see him almost on the verge of tears every minute or so.. for no apparent reason! It was nice to distract him a little when I started talking to him, and you can see that these little things do in some way help out your patient. And that’s really what it’s all about, right? Making your patient feel the best he can.

Whoa, that took a while and I commend you if you’re still reading this, lol. I know this is a food blog, but I can’t help talking about nursing stuff.. I mean, I am the vegan nurse, hehe. Anyhoo, that was my nursing tale of the week, but now, on to some eats!

During the week I was able to have some interesting food, including…

My first homemade vegan waffle!

I topped the waffle with some delicious Soyatoo Whip Cream.

For the waffle, I used Jenna’s recipe, but I found that my waffle were pretty flat! They didn’t rise at all, but I did sub the oil for applesauce and added about 4 oz more liquid.. maybe that might’ve caused a flat waffle? Anyway, the TASTE was there, so that’s what really made the waffle, but I hope next time I can get a crispy light waffle!

I also did some baking, so I enjoyed…

Lindsay’s Carrot Cake Cupcakes (made w/ almonds) and Celine’s Strawberry Corn Muffin (minus the strawberry, lol). Mmm.. the carrot cake cupcakes, I’ve made before and they were just as yummy as I’d remember them to be. As for Celine’s corn muffin.. soo good! I’ve been dying to have a corn muffin for a while, and this one was the perfect one to satisfy my craving. And so easy, too! I like to cut mine in half and spread some strawberry jam on each slice.. yum! Perfect breakfast food!

Speaking of the perfect breakfast…

Peanut Butter Banana Pudding topped with Wheat Germ.

I got this idea from VeggieGirl and WOW.. soo good and so creamy! Talk about great staying power, too.. this one kept me going for a full 5 hours! Will eat next time I have clinical. The perfect breakfast and so easy to make too. Puree 3-4 tbsp of nut butter and banana. Voila! Delecatable and filling! What more could you ask?

But I don’t eat just breakfast, guys, trust me (although I wouldn’t mind it – breakfast is my favorite meal of the day!) as evidenced by the following dishes…

Mixed Veggie Chili w/ dollop of nutritional yeast queso sauce and a corn muffin. Mm.. very tasty and spicy! Comfort food at it’s finest!

Black Bean & Quinoa w/ mixed veggies and Snapea Crips

While I have tried quinoa once before and found that I was not a fan of it all, I decided to give it another try after seeing multiple blogs post dishes about this ancient grain and boy, am I glad I gave it anotherย  chance! This dish was super delicous! I don’t know if it was the spices (cumin, s+p, garlic, onion, red pepper flakes) or the combo of black beans and bell peppers, but this was sooo good I couldn’t believe that I didn’t like it before! This meal was veggie-rific! Would highly recommend.

Oh, and here are some products I’ve been eating this past week.

First up, the Snapea crips that were featured with the Black Bean & Quinoa dish.

I found these at my local health food store and they are so good! They taste like French fries, but are way betterย  for you! Get these! You won’t be disappointed!

I also got to try some Clif bars for the first time. I got two flavors.

Crunchy Peanut Butter

Carrot Cake

While I thought the Crunchy Peanut Butter flavor was phenomenal (and great filling power… it fueled me well during my 5 hour clinical!), the Carrot Cake flavor was just meh. I wouldn’t buy that flavor again, but these are great for quick mini-meals or pre-exercise snacks.

And no post would be complete without dessert, right?

YUM! These crispy treats put all others to shame.. so good and good for you! Definitely give these a try, too. A perfect dessert or afternoon pick me up to be enjoyed with a nice glass of hempmilk. Mmm!

Well, that’s all I have for you guys for now! Kudos to you for reading this longo post! I’ll be back next time to talk about more awesome college eats and my first Med Surg clinical! Have a great week!

ADDENDUM: Peanut Butter Banana Pudding recipe also found here, thanks to Serena. ๐Ÿ˜‰

19 thoughts on “Psych!

  1. mmm, waffles! I can’t stand seeing all these delicious waffles on all these blogs and not having a waffle iron!! =(

    I’ve been dying to try that Quinoa Salad…it looks amazing!

  2. I really enjoyed hearing about your nursing clinicals. My sister is in nursing school, so I always think it’s fun to compare other nurses’ experiences. (PS I also had to go to school on Monday..Boo!)

    I love the heart-shaped muffins!

  3. My oh my, you’ve been crazy busy with school and everything – hang in there!! At least you’re enjoying it, so that’s wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hooray!! I’m glad that you liked the Peanut Butter Banana Pudding!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Paulina:

    Nursing school usually takes 4 years. I went to college and since I declared my major as nursing when I applied as a freshman, my school AUTOMATICALLY enrolled me in the College of Nursing, so I didn’t have to reapply my junior year of college to get into nursing school. I’m guaranteed a spot in the program, how cool is that? Usually colleges that offer nursing as a major make you take other classes your freshman and sophomore year (sort of like prerequisites) and then before your junior year you have to reapply to the Nursing College and cross your fingers that you are accepted (these seats fill up fast!).

    I thankfully didn’t have to do that, so I’ve been in the nursing program since freshman year.

    But generally, nursing takes 4 years of school. After 4 years of school, your recieve your BSN (Bachelor of Science in Nursing) and then take the NCLEX (exam for your license) and then it’s off to work!

    Did that answer your question? If you have any more questions, please feel free to ask me anything! Good luck with your schooling and I’m glad that you’re looking at nursing for a career.. it’s definitely rewarding and challenging, so we need lots of caring and nurturing people in the profession!

  5. Hey Evey! Thanks so much for your very informative and thorough reply to my question. That’s awesome that you didn’t have to wait until your junior year of college in order to get into nursing school. I don’t know if that will be the case with me.

    By the way, do you know anything about Nurse Practitioners? Do they go through the same program as nurses? I hear nurse practitioners have to get their master’s degree in nursing in order to practice. I ask you all this because that’s the career I’m choosing to pursue.

  6. Serena says:

    Hmmm I left a comment earlier, but it didn’t show up. Weird internet. Anyway, I just wanted to tell you that I love that pudding and eat it all the time, after discovering it a few months ago.
    The recipe is actually Chocolate-Covered Vegan’s recipe, not veggiegirl’s. I included the link below, so you can add it to your post, if you want.

    You should definitely check out the link, because she lists some great ways to enjoy the pudding, like over waffles! Or adding chocolate to it.

    Anyway, here’s the link:

  7. Serena says:

    Ok, so the problem seems to be it won’t let me leave the link!

    But you can find the recipe and ideas at howtogainweightonavegandiet dot blogspot dot com/2008/04/katies-perfect-pudding dot html

  8. i’m taking AP Psychology this year! i like it lots so far ๐Ÿ™‚

    omg, all of your food is amazing. your waffle prolly didn’t crisp up due to too little fat. oh well, at least it was good ๐Ÿ™‚

    your muffins look like hearts! do you have a heart shaped pan or did they just turn out like hearts?

    your soup with queso looks so good!

  9. Nursing school sounds very challenging, in a good way! I think that’s a wonderful career to choose.
    I agree breakfast is the best meal of the day. In fact, I have a very bad habit of eating breakfast foods for every meal ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Hello, Queen of Vegan Cookie-Baking :o). I think that cookies for breakfast sounds like a marvelous idea. Why not? Especially if you use oats or whole wheat flour, it sounds pretty darn healthy to me! Oh, and I also love that pudding (thanks, Serena, for the shout-out about my recipe).

    P.S. I am adding you to my blogroll, if that’s ok!

  11. As a fellow nursing student, I am SO excited to have discovered your blog! I’m deep in the midst of clinicals as well, and I greatly enjoyed reading about your clinical experiences. You also inspired me with your great school-week dishes! The heart shaped muffins are adorable!

  12. I’m so glad you had a great experience with Pysch! One of my best friends has that clinical this semester, along with Adult I! I have my FIRST clinical today…in about 2 hours! Thanks for all of the great advice on the comment you left me…I’ve been pretty overwhelmed the past two weeks, but I just keep thinking about the future- knowing that this is the career for me! We just have to keep our heads up together and we can get through the stress! :0) Have a great week girl!!

Leave a Reply

