College Eats

Well, I’ve been here at my school for a good week now, and it is still taking me some time to get used to my new environment, my classes, the workload, and everything else that college life on campus entails.

While I still try and get acustomed, I have not really been able to create any elaborate or creative dishes. It’s mainly been the same meals, but I really hope to change that soon enough! No reason to sacrifice delicious meals for school, as long as you prep ahead and make some quick fix meals.

My meals this week, though, haven’t been all the great, but I will show you some of the eats I’ve had that are somewhat “blog-worthy”.

The day before I moved in I was able to coerce my mom into letting me turn on the oven and bake some goods to take with me to school. What did I bake, you ask? Well…

The Everyday Vegan’s Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Vcon’s Wheat-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vcon’s Jelly Donut Cupcakes

YUM! I was able to safely bring all my treats in on move-in day and enjoyed them all throughout the week. Such as in breakfast (yes, I eat cookies for breakfast.. I’m such a cookie monster!).

On the day before I left for school, I decided to have a decadent breakfast made of two Van’s waffle and homemade pineapple sauce on top. Mmm..

During the week I’ve been at school, I’ve been relying heavily upon frozen foods. I would rather have homemade stuff, but my kitchen wasn’t stocked up yet and I didn’t have time to do it, so I bought convience food to help me through the week. I ate lots of Amy’s and Gardenburger’s. Healthy, yes, but not in the least creative!

What I’ve done for breakfast these past few days is make a big batch of steel cut oats and store individual servings in the fridge so I can just heat it up and add the mix-ins and eat! Some combos I’ve done:

PB&J Carob Chip Oats

Carob Pudding Oatmeal

On my first weekend here, I thought it would be nice to go eat at a veggie restaurant in town that I’d heard about over the summer. The cafe specializes in soups and wraps, and while I really wanted to try one of their awesome wraps, I changed my mind as soon as I saw the soup of the day: Roasted Red Pepper Chili!

Wow, was this chili so good! It was chock full of every bean under the sun: cannelini, kidney, black, garbanzo, pinto, and probably a few more! I loved how the roasted red pepper flavor permeated throughout the chili and just tied the whole thing together. I will definitely be coming back to this cafe and hopefully try a wrap next time!

On my way back to my dorm I waled across the town’s ice cream parlor and was shocked to see it announce they had “homemade Soy Cream (non-dairy frozen dessert)” on its front windows! I just had to go in and grab a scoop! I ordered the Strawberry Soy Cream, described as “fresh strawberry flavor made with organic soybeans, organic can sugar, and fresh whole strawberries”.

While the texture of this soy cream was a bit off (it was a bit chew for some reason) the flavor was still there and I was still able to enjoy my treat and satisfy my sweet tooth without harming any animals. 🙂

Oh, and I was able to make something a bit more elaborate this weekend: I made ED&BV’s Polenta Pancakes and topped them with banana slices. This was my first time eating polenta, and I really enjoyed it! I wonder what other dishes I can make with this…

I’ve got some serious grocery shopping to do tomorrow, so I can have REAL meals and not rely on frozen all the time (besides, frozen meals can sometimes mean more money, which is what I don’t have right now). I can tell this semester is going to be a busy one.. I am still having trouble with organizing and getting myself together, so I’ll have to work on that.

Hopefully everyone’s having a great weekend and if you’re back at school or heading there, wishing you a great school week!

15 thoughts on “College Eats

  1. I hope everything goes well with school!

    I just started again to, and I’m busier than ever! I haven’t had as much time to cook either, so I’ve had nut butter sandwiches everyday!

    Nice to see you found some vegan eats close to campus. 🙂

  2. I am feeling you on the low-on-money thing! Problem is, I’m low on time too. I’d love to stock up on frozen Amy’s meals…haha, maybe when more money comes my way…

    How convenient that you can get soy ice cream pretty close to your dorm! I know I’d be tempted by that all the time if I were you!

    And you must have been in heaven all week with those baked goods. You’re so ambitious for planning ahead and making three different treats! I need to get around to making the jelly donut cupcakes!

  3. No worries – you’ll be well-adjusted at school in no time! 🙂

    Look at all the baking you’ve done recently!! Wowza!! I’m envious, haha 😉 Looks fabulous!!

    PB&J Carob Chip Oats?!?!??! Carob Pudding Oatmeal?!?!!?! Polenta pancakes??!??!?!?! Come cook for me, please!!! 😀

    I wish you the BEST of luck with the semester – I know you’ll get through it!!

  4. Wow, where do I start?! I love the Polenta Pancakes, I also cut the polenta into little wedges and fry them up for croutons. I’ve been dying to try those oatmeal raisin cookies, are they worth it? And the wheat-free chocolate chip, sounds delicious! I love the idea of the pineapple sauce, what did you use for it? haha one more question…Do your oats get rubbery in the fridge? Mine always stick in a rubber disk when I take it out… =(

  5. I forgot to say how good your polenta pancakes look! I think that recipe will have to be what I use as my first time to try polenta.

    My camera is a Fujifilm A400. It’s a really affordable camera — my parents were trying to be economical when they bought it — but it has worked great for me. Lots of natural lighting is my best friend when it comes to taking pictures.

  6. mmmm COOKIES!

    those polenta pancakes look tasty. i make savory polenta alot. i just cook a cup of it with 3 cups water in the micro until the water’s absorbed and it’s slightly firm, then i put it in a loaf pan and mix in seasonings like garlic salt, nutritional yeast, rosemary; basically anything italian. it firms up after about 15 minutes and then you serve it in slices like meatloaf.

  7. Shelby:

    The Oatmeal Raisin cookies are DEFINITELY worth it! It’s my fave cookie recipe (but maybe I’m a bit biased since oatmeal raisin is my favorite type of cookie!). Definitely give it a try sometime.

    For the pineapple sauce, I used the recipe from Vegan with a Vegeance. It’s really good and so simple to make!

    And about the oats.. yea, they do get rubbery in the fridge, lol, but I don’t really mind that. I just smash the heck out of ’em and try and get rid of the “rubberiness” as best I can. 🙂

  8. odessa says:

    I just started grad school and before I took off someone said get a rice cooker.
    My rec: get a rice cooker. I don’t eat rice, but it works perfectly for quinoa, kasha, and lentils (red ones get mushy; black ones stay firm).

    I love it because I don’t have to worry about it, and 1 cup of any of that last me about 4-5 days.

Leave a Reply

