I Did It!

Sorry for not being able to post last night’s meals. I didn’t get to go watch Iron Man because my little cousin did not get ready in time so we missed the showtime. Bummer.. maybe today? We’ll see!

After lunch yesterday, I just played around with my little cousin and cleaned around the house a bit. I felt it was time for a snack so I ate a peanut butter Z bar. Perfect snack!

For dinner, I had some leftover pupusas that were about to get too old to eat, and I hate wasting food, so I ate the two vegan ones my mom made (filled with refried red beans, new potaotes, and tofu) along with some mixed veggies and some of my Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper with Eggplant and Garlic spread. YUM!

I was left way too stuffed after this meal, so there (UNFORTUNATELY) was no room for dessert tonight. 😦

To make up for no dessert last night, I decided to finally put some effort into my morning meal and make a decadent breakfast. Well, I did it! I FINALLY worked up the courage to go into the kitch a whip up some delicious and thin crepes! Yes, I did tear a few and burn some of my fingers in the process, but they were so worth it! Ever since I saw these delicate pieces of heaven being blogged about over at Sweet Eats, I just had to have one! I used to love to eat crepes when I was a vegetarian, and thought I had to permanently say goodbye to them when I went vegan.. but lo and behold, there are such things as vegan crepes and boy are they great!

While there are amazing recipes for crepes in both Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan and in Veganomicon, I didn’t use either of those recipes because I found I didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand. So, I googled a recipe and found this one. The only substitution I made was that I used spelt flour instead of all-purpose flour, and they still came out tasty and great. I do recommend you make the batter the night before and stick it in the fridge overnight. This way, the crepes are easier to flip.

I had two 8-inch crepes, one filled with White Chocolate peanut butter, and the other filled with natural peanut butter. I folded them, had them alongside fresh kiwi and papaya for a tropical twist, sprinkled on some walnuts, and sprinkled the whole thing with powdered sugar. *Sigh*.. I was in heaven! These crepes were heaven on earth.. they were so perfect! I can’t believe I made such a decadent meal. Pure bliss!

Like always, I’ve nothing planned for today.. but I like to play it by ear and with such a delicious breakfast to fuel me, I’m ready to take on the day! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “I Did It!

  1. Great idea! I’ve never made crepes before but have always wanted to. I checked out the link and they look pretty easy. I only hope mine look as good as yours πŸ˜›

  2. Wow is that your first attempt at making crepes … I have to say, you’re such a PRO at it!! How can you get it sooo thin and not make it CRACK?! you’re amazing … and to fill it with white choc pb?!! Sheesh, can I have some pleaseeeeee……

  3. Cecilia,

    I’m just as surprised as you are that these crepes came out looking as good as they did (and the taste was awesome too).

    thanks for thinking I’m a pro, lol, but yea, these were my first time making crepes and it wasn’t as bad as I thought. Give ’em a try.. I bet yours would come out just as good (if not better!). πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

