Memorial Day

Hey y’all.. how was everyone’s holiday? Hopefully everyone had a great time today.

After eating breakfast, my family just hung out in the house for a while and then my sister had the urge to go shopping, so we all went out to a mall and walked around and shopped. My sister bought me a cute dress from Forever 21.. gosh, I love that store. I wish I could buy everything in there, but I can’t, hehe.

During our trip there, I decided to eat my planned snack of an Apple Pie Larabar and some dried apricots. There was a Starbucks in the mall so I decided to get a drink that I’ve seen in a couple of blogs: an iced vanilla soy latte. I’m not really that much of a coffee drinker. I LOVE the smell of coffee but I don’t really like the taste of it. But I guess the hot weather prompted me to get one of these. Ugh, I’m sorry to say that I did not enjoy this drink. I did end up drinking it all, but it took me a LONG time and I just couldn’t stand the taste of coffee in my mouth. I guess I’m just not the coffee lover (WHAT? This girl is crazy… she doesn’t like chocolate or coffee?? Lol). Sorry, I didn’t have my camera with me so there’s no picture of the drink.

After the mall, my family got hungry so we went over to our favorite Chinese restaurant called Chi-Tung in Evergreen Park, IL. I found that I was not really hungry at all, maybe because of all the coffee? Not sure, but I just wasn’t hungry and didn’t eat anything at the restaurant. We came back home after walking a bit out on Lake Michigan along Lake Shore Drive and that’s when my appetite came back! I heated up some of my mom’s pinto beans and had that alongside some leftover Vegetable Chow Mein from the restaurant. I also heated up an Amy’s Breakast Patty (funny how I don’t eat these things for breakfast) and 3 mini whole wheat pitas from Whole Foods. Quite the random mix of things, but I was hungry and wanted to eat anything that didn’t require too much prep and so i had this meal, which turned out to be pretty tasty actually!

I was really in the mood for dessert right after I finished dinner so I heated up the last slice of Sunny Pineapple Cake and topped it with some cinnamon. Mmm… warm and delicious!

My family decided to watch a movie and when we were done I got a craving for some juicy watermelon when I saw my sister eating some, so I had that as well.

A refreshing end to a great holiday. Good night everybody!

2 thoughts on “Memorial Day

  1. I’m a coffee addict! I actually used to hate it so I guess its just something you gotta get used to. I think i might just make that cake tomarrow, it looks to good!

  2. I love Forever 21 too! I consider it to be my favorite clothing store.

    I also tried the iced vanilla soy latte at Starbucks and hated it. I was expecting just vanilla and soy milk but when I tasted the coffee I thought it was horrible! I’m not a coffee fan at all.

    Have you tried their iced soy green tea latte? It’s my all-time favorite drink!

Leave a Reply

