Vegan Chile Relleño

Inspired by the lovable Rachael Ray, my dinner tonight was a delicious chile relleño (or stuffed pepper). Chile relleño is a traditional Mexican dish that consist of a roasted poblano pepper that is stuffed with cheese then covered in egg batter and deep fried.

Not that long ago when I was a vegetarian, I would order this dish every time we ate out at our favorite Mexican restaurant. My mom would also cook them at home whenever she got hit with the craving for it.. today was one of those days! While I was upstairs cleaning my room, the wonderful aroma of roasted poblano peppers filled the house and I rushed down to see if my mom was indeed cooking what I thought she was. Yep! My mom was making chile relleños and I suddenly had a massive craving for it! I figured that there has got to be a way to veganize this delicious dish and so I asked my mom to set aside a roasted poblano pepper for me while I tried to figure out what I would do with it.

Then I remembered a 30 Minute Meal episode in which Rachael Ray was making some chile relleños and I went back to rewatch that episode and suddenly the light bulb switched on in my head! Inspired in part by her recipe, I set out to make the filling for my vegan version of Chile Relleño. But before I started cooking, I decided to snack on a juicy and sweet mango.

For the filling, I sauted a zucchini and about 1/2 cup of corn kernels in about 2 tsp of EVOO and seasoned them with s+p and garlic powder. After the filling was cooked and cooled, I poured about 1/2 cup of Prego Traditional sauce over it and mixed to combine. Then I took out the charred poblano pepper my mom left me and opened it and took out all the seeds and stuffed them with some of my filling. The result? A delicious twist on an old favorite!

I had it alongside some cut up carrot and celery, some Spanish brown rice, and leftover english cucumber from today’s lunch. While the traditional fried cheese filled version was a tasty one, I got to say, I rather enjoyed this much healthier and tastier chile relleño very much… possibly even more since there were more flavors present in the dish.

About an hour later, I got a massive sweet tooth, so I decided to defrost and heat up two Homestyle Carob Chip cookies and enjoy them alongside some hempmilk. Mmm!! Definitely hit the spot and a great (sweet!) way to end the day.

After my sweet treat, I decided to make something special for tomorrow’s dessert.. but you’ll have to wait til then to find out what it is! Have a good night! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chile Relleño

Leave a Reply

