Improv “Burrito”

So for dinner I got hit with a huge craving for a massive burrito filled with beans, seasoned brown rice, lettuce, tomatoes, green salsa, avocado, and tons of queso sauce… mmm! I decided to skip my usual afternoon snack since I had a pretty late lunch and was already in the mood for dinner. I set out to satisfy my craving, getting all of the filling ingredients ready to stuff my burrito with until I realized.. I have no tortillas! Darn! Silly me… for some reason I had thought I bought some Ezekiel tortillas at Whole Foods yesterday, but alas, I did not. šŸ˜¦ I still wanted my “burrito”, so I decided to just make a dinner out of the planned filling instead and opted to have some GG blue corn tortilla chips on the side.

I also had some boiled sweet plantains my mom made.. I can never deny myself a delicious plantain! šŸ˜‰

Well, I guess my dinner filled me up real well because I was not able to have a sweet nighttime snack I had planned. šŸ˜¦ But I decided to have my planned snack as part of my breakfast tomorrow so I’m already excited for morning to come! I’m off to read some more Harry Potter and then catch some z’s. You all have a good night and I’ll see you in the AM!

2 thoughts on “Improv “Burrito”

  1. Nice save with your meal, since you didn’t have the tortillas – looks delicious!!

    Oooh, the boiled sweet plantains sound great… I’ve only ever heard of fried plantains! I’ve never eaten either variety, so they BOTH sound intriguing :0)

  2. Evey says:

    VeggieGirl: You’ve never had plantains? Oh gosh, you’re missing out! These are really good.. they taste like a starchy banana. But you have to wait until the plantain really ripens (the skin should be almost all black) to ensure the you get the sweet plantain. My mom just buys the plantains and then lets them ripen here at home until they are all (or almost) black.

    To boil them, simply cut up chunks of the plantain, leaving the skin on, and put them in a saucepan with water just enough to cover the plaintains. Bring to a boil. Then let it simmer for a few minutes and then let cool.

    Drain the water and pcik you plantain. Remove skin and enjoy! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

