Some Like It Cold

Good morning!

I woke up a bit earlier than usual today because I was really looking forward to today’s breakfast: Vegan Swiss Oats. I’d been dying to try this recipe after having it seen it numerous times over at Kristin’s Nibbles. Her Swiss Oats always looked so creamy and delicious. So yesterday I perpared 1/2 cup rolled oats, one cup of vanilla almond milk, chopped up one medjool date, and covered the bowl with saran wrap and put it in the fridge.

When I woke up this morning, I grabbed the bowl and was surprised to see that the oats had not soaked up all the liquid. In fact, pretty much all the milk was still intact. Hmm, I wonder why it didn’t work out today? Nevertheless, I decided to give these cold oats a try and they were quite delicious! Instead of using soy yogurt like I had planned, I just treated this bowl like a regular bowl of oats, adding flaxmeal, a huge banana, cinnamon, a couple of blueberries, and a drizzle of maple syrup. Creamy and oh-so good! Delish! I think I’ll be eating my oats this way all summer, since hot oatmeal doesn’t sound as appealing as cold oats during warm weather.

I don’t know what I have planned for today. I just love the spontaneity and laziness that summer brings, hehe. Have a great Thursday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

